Understanding the Chakras by Sadie McDonald

Posted by Native Nectar on | 0 comments | Tags: chakras , exercise , healing , health , yoga

Understanding the Chakras In sanskirt, chakra literally means "wheel."  In yoga, the chakras are the seven energy centers of the subtle body, located at the base of the spine, lower abdomen, solar plexus, heart, throat, forehead, and crown of your head. The chakras are circular vortexes of energy near the spinal cord traveling all the way up through the crown of the head.



Muladhara Chakra or Root Chakra

Color : Red
Location: Base of the spine, a little beyond the tip of the coccyx (including the legs)
Element: Earth and is associated with the solid body parts such as bones and teeth
Uses: Helps to connect to the physical world and relates to the earth, to being grounded, alignment, safety, security, and ambition.
Affirmations: "I have" ; "I own" & "I deserve to have"
Asana: Triangle


Svadhisthana Chakra or Sacral Chakra

Color: Orange Location: pelvic bowl
Element: Water and associated with the reproductive organs, the bladder(and kidneys), colon, and the sacrum. Also includes all the fluids of the body.

Uses: Controls your passions, your sexual needs and the fulfillment of your desires, but it is the center of your creation. (life, as well as, art, music, and poetry)
Affirmation: "I feel"
Asana: Extended side angle


Manipura Chakra or Solar Plexus Chakra

Color: Yellow
Location: Upper abdomen
Element: Fire
Uses: controls our will and personal power. It brings us our strength and our will to succeed, achieve, and survive. It is related to our stomach organs, liver, pancreas, and upper intestines.
Affirmations: "I act" & "I do"
Asansa: Side plank 


Anahata Chakra or Heart Chakra

Color: Green or pink
Location: Heart area and center of the chest
Element: Air
Uses: compassion and unconditional love. On a physical level it controls the heart and circulation in the lungs. It also affects our emotions and feelings and how we express them toward ourselves and others.
Affirmations: "I love" or "I balance"
Asana: Upward facing dog


Vishudda Charka or Throat Chakra

Color: Blue
Location: Resides in the area of the neck and throat
Element: Ether
Uses: On a physical level this chakra governs the throat, thyroid, mouth, teeth, tongue, and jaw. It focuses on self-expression, communication, telling the truth, and is the center of abundance.
Affirmations: "I speak" & " I express myself"
Asana: Downward facing dog


Ajna Chakra or Third Eye Chakra 

Color: Purple
Location: On the forehead between the eyebrows
Uses: On a physical level, this chakra governs the pituitary glands, the skull, eyes, brain, and nervous system. It also governs our senses. On an emotional level it governs knowledge, intuition, wisdom, and clairvoyance.
Affirmation: "I see" & "I intuit"
Asana: Childs pose


Sahasrara Chakra or Crown Chakra

Color: White Light
Location: top or crown of the head Uses: on physical level, this chakra controls the pineal gland, spinal cord, brain, and nerves. On a spiritual level, this chakra is our connection to the divine Universal Energy. It relates to thought, wisdom, and unity. Symbolically, there are a thousand rays of light emanating upward and outward from this chakra and often depicts images of enlightened beings. One experiences duality merging into oneness with the universal life force and energy. There is only oneness and no longer separation between "I" as a separate self.
Affirmation: ;"I know" & "All is One"
Asana: Rabbit (or rolling on crown of the head) 


  Sadie McDonald is a Spirit Healer, Rainbow Warrior and Yoga Instructor at Trailside Yoga. She is also an owner at The Path Outfitters and The Path Outfitters at Trailside Yoga.


Photos by Layers, LLC


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published